Opus One, Piano Quartet

Sunday, April 12, 2015 at 4:00 pm


Mozart: Piano Quartet No. 2 in E-Flat Major, K. 493
Chris Rogerson: Summer Night Music (2012)
Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 2 in A Major, Op. 26

The members of Opus One are veterans as well as present members of the world’s most prestigious chamber groups, including the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, the Beaux Arts Trio, and the Orion and Guarneri String Quartets. As soloists as well as chamber musicians, they are familiar figures in concert halls throughout the world and have joined together to form one of the most exciting groups performing anywhere. Their dedication to the works of contemporary American composers is reflected in their programming, and the sheer, obvious joy they have in performing together communicates directly to their audiences.

Opus One is deeply committed to chamber music education. One of the innovative projects they have developed is workshops with amateurs as well as students. Concepts to help break down barriers include special concerts in which the members of Opus One collaborate with young musicians.

1998-99 marked the inaugural season of Opus One. The group made their debut on October 23, 1998, at the Library of Congress in Washington, DC. Subsequent seasons have included debuts in New York, Detroit, Los Angeles, Pittsburgh, Cleveland, San Diego, Philadelphia, and Portland, Oregon. Their orchestral debut was with the Chattanooga Symphony, performing Beethoven’s Triple Concerto and a work written by Douglas Lowry especially for the group to perform with orchestra. Along with the Pittsburgh and Cleveland Chamber Music Societies, Opus One commissioned the composer Stephen Hartke to write a new quartet, “Beyond Words,” an emotional tribute to the victims of 9/11. The piece was premiered in December, 2001.